icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-right-button icon-author icon-bag icon-check icon-clock icon-close icon-date icon-decrement icon-edit icon-email icon-increment icon-loading icon-location icon-menu icon-no-image icon-phone icon-search icon-share icon-star icon-trash icon-view-grid icon-view-list Facebook Flickr Google Plus Instagram Kickstarter LinkedIn Mail Medium Pinterest Print Rdio Reddit RSS Spotify StumbleUpon Tumblr Twitter Vimeo Vine YouTube icon-visa icon-mastercard icon-american-express icon-discover icon-paypal icon-apple

Is Tea Gluten Free? You'll Be Surprised By the Facts

Traditional tea is made from the plant Camellia sinensis. So no grains, wheat, barley, or rye are used in it's production. This includes all non-herbal teas like green, white, black, yellow, oolong, and pu-erh teas. Although no gluten is involved in these types of teas, they are all processed quite differently. That is why despite the fact that they all use the same plant, the taste, texture, smell, and caffeine amount is different. For herbal teas, that can be different. Although most herbal teas, including all 6 original Native American Herbal Tea blends, are gluten free, some tea companies will use gluten to get certain flavors to "stick" better. Often you will find this gluten flavoring in seasonal herbal teas that naturally cannot offer this type of taste or the flavoring just isn't strong enough.